Everything but country

I had detested hip-hop until I discovered the craft that producers like J Dilla honed and possessed.

I had hated country until I heard guitarist Bill Frisell play country with a purity that drew me in.

It wasn’t simply hearing a good artist of a genre but hearing the right one. As a listener I look for craft and purity in anything I hear (amongst other things).

We all have things we hear for. So before you ignore an entire genre, think about taking the time to look for the artist that fits your sensibilities as a listener. It sounds simple enough but I think we dismiss it for something even easier to say: “I listen to everything but…”

Leave a Reply

