Band of Brothers

The bonds of the military are so powerful. Recruits come in as separate entities but leave as one unit. That bond is sealed through acts of valor and bravery, soldiers risking life and limb so that their fellow comrades may live.

Each soldier has no doubt that the man next to them would risk his life for them. Sure, soldiers treat each other like friends and family, but this bond goes beyond that.

Musicians? Sure, musicians treat each other like friends and family, but would the musician next to you risk themselves so that you may gain? We’re not even talking life and limb here. How about time and energy beyond the minimum?

When was the last time you’ve heard any of these: You should come to my concert. Listen to my album. Record my music. Me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me.

Perhaps we can learn something from the bonds of the military. There is something greater than ourselves. Music teaches us this and yet we choose to forget. Me, me, me…no.

Simon Sinek has written and spoken a lot about this, especially with examples of the military.

Leave a Reply

